Sparkly Dresses, Sprinkles & Spray Tans

I’m the birthday girl! Yesterday was my 22nd birthday. It was truly an amazing day. Sure, it would nice to be a millionaire, have thicker hair, and drop 5 pounds with the snap of my fingers. But when it comes down to it, life is pretty great and I have a lot to be thankful for. For most people, Thanksgiving is the time to reflect on these thoughts, but personally, my birthday always makes me realize all I have to be grateful for. It’s the one day a year that no matter what is going on in my life, I can forget any stress and focus on the memories and people I love.

Growing up, October was always a bittersweet time for me. I was sad to see the long days and warm summer nights come to an end, but it was also the beginning of my birthday month! This meant planning party themes, creating birthday wish lists, and usually a little pampering. All things I looked forward to! While some of the logistics have changed (ie. who pays for most of it!) the excitement never faded. Now, on this day, I just look forward to talking to all the people I care about. It’s so nice to hear my phone beep with “Happy Birthdays” messages throughout the day .

Similarly to New Years, birthday attire for me means one thing: Sparkles. And lots of them. It’s definitely a day where you can shamelessly overdress for dinner no matter where you’re dining. From Chevy’s to Spago- a sequined cocktail dress is always acceptable. Actually, in my book, it’s a must! These are just a few of my favorite birthday looks.

Ok, with that said, even I draw the line somewhere. While yesterday was my birthday, showing up to the federal building to pick up my passport wearing that little purple sequin number would have been slightly awkward. But I still found an appropriate way to add a little glitter. Not only are these shoes comfy and fun, they were super cheap! I found these babies at Payless on sale in the store for only $16.99. Happy Birthday to me!

One thought on “Sparkly Dresses, Sprinkles & Spray Tans

Leave a Reply

