Breaking the Rules

There have always been “rules” in fashion. In the early 1900’s a hint of ankle peaking out from underneath a dress was frowned upon. We stumbled upon a slight “wild” moment in the 20’s, but it was quickly overlooked by the Depression and War in the 30’s and 40’s. The rules then segued into the 50’s and 60’s where a little skin was allowed again, but most women conformed to the cookie cutter image of how a woman “should” look. It’s clear that our amount of freedom has sky-rocketed throughout the years, and we are encouraged to express ourselves  through personal style almost any way we want. However, a few “classic” fashion rules (where did they even come from anyway?) are still followed by many. But soon, all the rules are about to be thrown out the window. Wearing white after Labor Day, mixing polka dots and stripes, black and brown, feminine and masculine-these are trends now starting to catch on.

During my childhood my favorite time of year was right as the summer was coming to a close. Those warm August nights, that antsy feeling in your stomach telling you school was just around the corner, the thrill of those final vacations we squeezed into the last few weeks of freedom, but most of all- back to school shopping. Few activities could top that for me (my last trip during the summer before college was a sad one for it was the end of an era!)

I remember the summer before I started high school I got a pair of white jean shorts that I was in love with. While they didn’t make the cut for my “first day of school outfit” they were definitely worn in the first week. I will never forget the scrunched-nose-raised-eyebrow look of disapproval I received from a sophomore (a big deal!) in the P.E locker room. She went on to inform me, “Umm, you really can’t wear white after Labor Day…” I didn’t get it. It was hot outside. What did she mean I can’t? I was so mortified, I decided mourning the loss of those coveted shorts (which were promptly sentenced to the back of the closet until the next summer) was better than ever encountering that look again.

Needless to say that experience stuck with me, and I lived by that rule for a long time. I wouldn’t be caught dead in white of any kind below the waist between Labor Day and Memorial Day. But I’ve recently shaken that theory and decided to wear what I want, when I want, the way I feel is right for me.

Boots- Anthropologie, Jeans- Gap, Tank/Top/Jacket/Necklaces- Nordstrom…I enjoy white pants and shorts, and if the weather permits, think both pieces can be taken right into fall. Pair my straight leg white jeans with warm colors, scarves, or boots and voila! They are transformed.

Booths- Charlotte Russe, Tights- Express, Shorts- Bebe, Tank- Nordstrom B.P, Sweater- Alice & Olivia, Scarf- Old Navy, Bangle- Forever21…These shorts bring a fun challenge. I’ve solved it with tights, a scarf, and of course, boots. This is definitely Fall enough for Los Angeles.

Jeggins- Forever21, Tank- Old Navy, Scarf- Thrifted, Charm Bracelet- Vintage…Consider this polka dot tank and striped scarf a big you know what to the so-called Rules of Fashion! Whatever you choose to wear this season-make it unique, make it exciting, make it you.

5 thoughts on “Breaking the Rules

  1. Pingback: winter white | If The Stiletto Fits.

  2. Pingback: winter white | If The Stiletto Fits

Leave a Reply

